Skip to content
April 20, 2011 / AM Collins

Don’t Make Me Cut You.

This weekend I spent a good chunk of time cutting a project that I have been super stoked to work on: Catch the Clock a film by Jaena Sta. Ana.  The film is edited by Dominic Mercurio, however, I was privilaged to cut one of the films most beautifully shot segments, the Chinese New Year parade.  There is some incredible footage to sift through, and it was tough having to pick which shots to use, but I think that things were narrowed down enough to start seeing the scene clearly.  Its far from perfect, but I’ll keep hacking away at it for the rest of the week.

Currently, I am creating storyboards for a short film titled EmVerse, written by Matthew West (aka Malcolm Falcon).  Honestly, it’s taking longer than I thought – drawing has always been second nature to me, but now that I am working in a digital medium, things like drawing don’t come as easily.  I like to try and incorporate my drawings into my film when I can, like last month when I hand drew opening titles to Red Dead Redemption.  I was learning After Effects, and really wanted to make something about westerns.  I think it worked out well, and it got me back into drawing.  I also drew a DVD cover for another class a few months back.

I don’t understand how people express themselves without art.  I remember an article I read, back in 2007-ish, about a women’s art movement after the liberation of Iraq.  It’s beautiful that the first thing people do with their freedom is create works of art.  If I wasn’t on the other side of the world, I bet that would have been an amazing exhibit to attend.  I’ll look for that article and try to post it.

-AMC

Leave a Reply

